Lady A Day 030: Melanie Lynskey

Gidday, Sheilas!  In honor of today’s Lady, I’m working on my New Zealand slang.  According to some exceedingly brief internet research, I can tell you that Melanie Lynskey is a bit of a dag Kiwi who I wouldn’t mind dropping my gear with.  Melanie was scouted from a local high school at age 16 to star opposite Kate Winslet in the disturbing-beyond-words story of teenage murderesses, Heavenly Creatures (1994).  I watched the movie, but after the claymation orgy sequence I swore I would never revisit.  I definitely prefer my Melanie in comedic roles or in straight dramatic roles tinged with dark comedy.  She was just hilarious as the “reformed” lesbian Hilary in But I’m a Cheerleader, and her recent role as a vivacious woman who keeps miscarrying in that middling flick Away We Go was absolutely standout.  I laughed, I cried.  I cried some more and thought “Gee, that Melanie Lynskey is SO GOOD.”  And she seems like a swell individual.  She’s married to the adorable Jimmi Simpson.  She tweets about normal person stuff!  Not to mention she’s both gorgeous and not rail thin.

Now, I know she’s appeared in about a bazillion other films and TV shows, so tell me – are you a Mel fan?

And in the interest of full disclosure: I really wanted to work “full tit” into this post because….well….but it just didn’t work.

8 thoughts on “Lady A Day 030: Melanie Lynskey

  1. Yes! Loved her since BIAC and that she spoke in her native dialect! She seems to be in everything, yet no one really knows who she is. Her “Rose” is one of the only reasons I watch “Two and a Half Men” anymore. I’m glad you mentioned “Away We Go” specifically. Great film…but then again, Allison Janney and JKraz being in it certainly didn’t hurt either.

    • Yes! I’m not sure she’ll ever get a big break, but her performances are so consistently excellent. I can’t say I’ve caught her storyline on 2 1/2 men, though. I just can’t bring myself to watch a show with a laugh track.

  2. She’s just adorable! I remember her from But I’m a Cheerleader and Heavenly Creatures but don’t think I ever made the connection that it was the same woman. I’ll have to check out Away We Go!

  3. Yes! I always get excited when I see her with bit parts in movies! I think I first saw her in Coyote Ugly. She was great in Sweet Home Alabama and Away We Go too.

    She’s my favourite part of “Two and a Half Men”. I can’t stand Charlie Sheen so I don’t watch it regularly but it’s my grandpa’s favourite show; he seems to think we can bond over it because it’s a “young people show”. Rose and the housekeeper get me through! 🙂

  4. I liked her a lot in BIAC (what a fun film!) and in Away We go. She was totally misused in Drive (that lasted 4 episodes anyway!) and I’m still on the fence about Heavenly Creatures. Disturbing, it was… I’m not too sure it carried anything across but uneasiness though.

    And here’s to normally proportioned actresses!

Leave a Reply

