Lady A Day 013: Fiona Apple

I can’t help it, I’m on a musician kick I guess, and today I host one of my most abiding loves: Fiona Apple.  She is one conflicted lady, and I love her for it.  I love her rawness, her power, and her integrity as an artist.  I love that she sings old Appalachian folk songs and makes spoofy music videos.  I love the way she gets a little possessed when she performs, rocking awkwardly as that big voice comes out of that little lady.  I HATE that she makes me wait so long for each CD, but well, if each CD is gonna deliver the way that Extraordinary Machine does, I’ll just fucking cope.  That was my soundtrack to the summer of 2006, when I interned unhappily in Santa Monica, working long hours, living without air conditioning or close friends.  Fiona – her blinding rage, haunted longing, and spectacular confusion at life – kept me good company.  To this day, when one of those songs comes up on shuffle, I’m transported.

Leave a Reply

