Lady A Day 005: Annie Leibovitz

Are you guys going W. T. F. ???  Okay, so sometimes I might choose to highlight a Lady-A-Day who is not necessarily a knockout television or film actress.  Crazy, I know.  But oft times I find that I’m more attracted to talent than I am to, well, undeniable good looks.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m most attracted when those two traits collide (Archie, Chloe, Tilda, and many Ladies-A-Day to come…), but I think there are many deserving ladies who don’t ooze sex appeal.  Annie Leibovitz takes the most gorgeous celebrity photos out there, but I find the photos from her personal life with Susan Sontag and her immediate family even more compelling.  Annie’s been working it for like, four decades?  A really freaking long time.  And although she might have a huge entourage and a bunch of fancy digital equipment now, I still think she delivers the goods nine times out of ten (let’s not revisit that recent celebrity ad campaign for Disney).  And have you seen her book A Photographer’s Life: 1990-2005?  It’s so sick, it made me cry. A book of photography made me cry.  So yeah, Annie Leibovitz.  My lady of today.


How rad are the glasses, btw?

Do any of you have favorite Annie photos?

One thought on “Lady A Day 005: Annie Leibovitz

  1. She succeeded in being the reference in an era when most women were considered secretary or mistress material! She has an eye I wish I could only even dream about and she photographed everyone worth looking at and then some. She even made Tom Cruise look like less of a lunatic! If that’s not talent, I don’t know what is.

Leave a Reply

